Tea & Book Chat: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee (The Thousandth Floor #1)

*This book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This is no way swayed my opinions.*

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee is pitched as a series for readers who enjoy Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl so I immediately added it to my TBR.  I was so excited to pick up a copy of the ARC at BEA (despite it’s beautiful final cover not having been released yet at the time the ARC was printed) and it ended up being the first book I read from my haul when I returned home.  The Thousandth Floor was just the right combination of drama, suspense and most of all ridiculousness because while the book may seem like it’s about your typical group of rich teens, it’s actually about your typical group of rich teens FROM THE FUTURE.  The book takes place in Manhattan, which has been replaced with a single thousand floor tower (the rich kids living on the upper floors) in the year 2118.  I definitely enjoyed the story but if it hadn’t been for all of the inventive future tech and ways of life of the future I wouldn’t have been as into it as I was.

The Thousandth Floor begins with a character falling off the roof of the thousandth floor and plummeting to their death and then it immediately flashes back and details the events of the past two months leading up to that night.  The victim of the fall isn’t revealed until the final chapters so all of the speculation also adds to the fun of reading.  The story is told through the multiple POVs of mean girl Leda, little miss perfect Avery (no really, her parents designed her genetics to be perfect) who’s harboring quite a secret, the outgoing and fun-loving Eris who’s life is about to spawn much gossip, Rylin, the poor girl from the lower floors of the tower who bonds with a member of the upper floors and Watt, a tech genius, also with a big secret.  I will say that this is one book that I didn’t love all of the perspectives in.  Despite some overlap in story lines, I found I most enjoyed Leda, Eris, and Avery’s POVs.  The story is really quick paced and it’s so full of drama that it’ll keep you completely engaged.  Even if there’s a lull in plot, it doesn’t feel that way because that’s when McGee takes the opportunity to describe some fun futuristic element such as screaming gummy bears, hover cars or floating bubbles of alcohol.  I don’t want to go too far into her vision of the future because part of the fun is definitely reading and discovering everything for yourself.

Final Thoughts:  The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee is one of the few novels which lives up to the marketing comparison made prior to its release.  If you enjoy Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars you’ll definitely find enjoyment in this novel.  Come for the drama, stay for the intriguing future ways 2118 has to offer and you’ll be left wishing you didn’t have to wait a whole year for the next installment.  This is great book to read if you’re in a slump because it’s quick paced and attention grabbing and the mysterious plot will definitely having you craving the next chapter.

Rating 5

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall…. (via Goodreads)

Bloglovin ♥ Twitter ♥ Instagram ♥ YouTube ♥ Goodreads ♥ Pinterest

Kristin

7 Responses to “Tea & Book Chat: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee (The Thousandth Floor #1)”

  1. Cassie says:

    Thank you for lending me your ARC, it was such a fun read!

  2. I am SUPER excited for this book!! I loved both Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars (books and TV shows, for both!). There’s something about rich people that I love reading about haha. Adding in mystery elements seems perfect. So glad you enjoyed it!

    • Kristin says:

      Me too!!! My least favorite character in the book is the one that isn’t rich lol. I think you’ll really love this one too and I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!!

  3. I am SO excited to read this!!! Glad you loved it!! So glad it actually lives up to it’s billing!

  4. Sara Strauss says:

    I wanted this book from the moment I saw the cover! It’s beautiful and intriguing just like the premise. I’m so glad you like it! I’m definitely going to get it when it comes out!
    ~Sara

  5. Alexa S. says:

    I’m quite glad to see that you enjoyed The Thousandth Floor! Honestly, I just expect it to be a fun, fast-paced read ;)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge